Customer Reviews for A New Groove


You all were a huge hit!  The groom's father was floored by your sound and both vocalists. He loved you guys. We had so many people comment that they were a bit apprehensive by a live band rather than DJ, but were loving your sound! many commented that our wedding was the most fun they had in a long time, we will let you share in that compliment!  :)

Thanks again, we love A New Groove!

Sidney and Kyle

7/31/16 Wedding


Hi Mike,

Sorry for my extremely delayed response! Thank you SO much for being a part of our wedding day! Our guests are still talking about how much fun they had dancing!! Please let me know where we can review you!!

Many thanks!!

Lauren + Grant

7/6/16 Wedding

Thanks, Marc!


A New Groove...awesome! They did a superb job at our wedding on 6/25/2016 at the Adrianna Hill Grand Ballroom in Portland Oregon. They did it all for us...two musicians performed at cocktail hour (sax & guitar), they performed intro music for bridal party, DJ'd the entire event, play the first dance, and rocked it out the rest of the night...everybody danced. They draw a fine line providing an awesome performance while still keeping the focus on us...the bride and groom. We had an awesome time at our own wedding reception and danced until midnight. Ending the night with some Night Ranger (requested), was perfect. Can't recommend these guys enough. Very flexible and have a large of range of what they cover. Male and Female lead vocals, 2 sax's, piano, 2 guitar, bass, drums...doesn't get better than that. And they DJ! Can't beat it. Also, they hooked us up with dance lessons. It was a lot of fun, a great break from the wedding planning and we got many compliments (probably because of her, not me). All of our guests gave incredible feedback. Again, can't recommend enough.
Thanks,

Ted Grigsby

6/25/16 Portland Wedding


Thank you! We absolutely loved A New Groove! I secretly wish they could have played all night for us! Marc was great to work with and the two vocalists were amazing!
Thanks to you and the band for an unforgettable night!

Best,

Ciellito & Aaron
5/29/16 Portland Wedding


Hi Michael,

Sorry for the delay in my response……I was planning on reaching out to you and telling you how amazing the band was at the wedding.   I have had rave reviews from everyone as it really made the difference from a good wedding to an outstanding wedding.   We have set the bar very high for anyone that attended this wedding for any future weddings they attend.   We will highly recommend your group! 

Thank you so much!

Warm Regards,

Shelley Safronek
3/19/16 wedding


Hey Mike,

I just wanted to write to you and to the band to let you know how much you BLEW AWAY our expectations for Charlie and Alex's wedding on Aug. 17. A New Groove was simply incredible. We had several musicians in the wedding party, including Charlie, the groom, who could not quit talking about the musicians.  And EVERYBODY raved about singers and the band sound. I am certain there was not one minute of an empty dance floor while the band was playing. Charlie and Alex would have had a beautiful wedding no matter what, but A New Groove took it up a level to spectacular. And you were so easy to work with! Thank you so much for everything.  

Cathy Henschen

8/17/15 Seattle Wedding


Hi Mike,

Sorry for the delay! Yes, they were great! The dance floor was full the entire evening, and we received a lot of compliments about how awesome the band was! It was very nice of them to let me sing with them as well. We will recommend them to all of our friends getting married!

Thanks!

Brittany 8/15/15 Seattle Wedding


This review is for Mike, the band's agent and A New Groove, the wedding band. Just want to leave a short note of thanks to Mike, the agent, who made himself readily available for our questions. Mike went the extra mile and helped us to see A New Groove live at the Tigard Festival of Balloons, which made us very comfortable in signing the band. Many of our guests appreciated the classics from John Lennon's Let It Be to Journey's Anyway You Want It. The band's lead, Leisa, was very responsive to email and special requests for the band leading all the way up to the event date. On top of all this, they performed at a very reasonable rate. Based on our positive experience, we would not hesitate to recommend A New Groove and Celebration Music to others.

Monica

06/20/2015 wedding


Dear Leisa,

ANG knocked it out of the park! You and the band were so solid and I cannot tell you how many people came up to us and said that ANG was hands down the BEST BAND they have ever heard at wedding. In fact, one of our guests came up to Molly and said they thought that our first dance was a recording until they turned around and saw the band playing :) We cannot thank you and the band enough for your professionalism, thoughtfulness and for contributing to feeding the energy, love and excitement at our wedding. Kudos to you and the band. Please extend our heartfelt thanks to your band and especially to Marc for going the extra mile to supply us with the extra mic and for DJ'ing our cocktail hour. 

Best Regards, 

Khari & Molly   

9/20/14 wedding


Hi Mike,

We loved A New Groove!! They were wonderful. Many people commented on how great they were, especially with Leisa's voice, the sax player, and the keyboard player. Most people got up to dance several times. My 31/2 year old granddaughter danced until she literally collapsed in her daddy's arms.

I will recommend them to anyone who wants a fun versatile band.

Thanks,

Kathy Metz

7/19/14  Portland wedding


Thanks Mike! The band was fantastic and accommodating even with some last minute requests. Wonderful music and talent! Our guests raved on and on about how great they were. Tami and I couldn't have been happier. Fun people as well.  Thanks much for making our reception a success! 

Scott Stehman

7/20/13  destination wedding


We were blown away by A New Groove.  Like you, I love dancing and so do my friends, so an A+ dance band was at the top of my list.  In person they sound even better then on their website, and their high-energy is contagious.  (In fact, we are planning to go to Portland to see them again this winter.)   Their vocalist, Leisa Hart, has an amazing range and puts out a fabulous energy.  She has a great way of reading the crowd and interacting with them.  Our guests stayed on the dance floor and danced until the very last song.  We had the incredibly talented Geoffrey Castle (electric violinist) perform for our wedding ceremony, and so we asked the band ahead of time whether he could jam with them for the first couple of dance songs, and they were happy to accommodate our request, and it was so fun to watch them all keying off one another.  All of the wedding professionals that were in attendance at my wedding -- from the catering manager to the wedding painter (see www.samday.com – this is so cool!) to the wait staff – all of whom attend weddings all year long, said that A New Groove was the best band they had heard all year, and some even said the best wedding band that they could remember.  The band readily accommodated our song requests (we asked for must-haves, and we also asked for please don’t plays).  And, they were all very professional and personable, too.  We loved them, and so did our guests and all of the professionals in attendance.  In short, I give them my highest recommendation.

8/25/12 Seattle wedding Rainier Club

Cynthia and John


Mike,

HOLY SMOKES! those guys are unbelievable. You wouldn't believe how many people came up to me asking me how I found the band and to tell me how amazingly good they were! They totally made the night happen and I'm so glad I booked them. It was worth every penny!

Rob 2011 Wedding


Hi Mike,

Just a quick note to let you know what an amazing job ANG did at our wedding on Saturday. They were so amazing; I can't even believe how good they were. I never dance, and did not plan on dancing, and yet I think I danced every song, along with everyone else! It was so funny to see all our family limping around the next day because they had danced for hours! The dance floor was packed from the first dance on to the last, and the next day I had people asking me about the band for their next party because they enjoyed them so much! I have never had more fun at a wedding than I had at my own, and a large part of that was just how good the band was. They interacted with the crowd just the right amount, and they even did a special "happy birthday" for my grandma's 90th birthday, which was beyond cool. Leisa has an incredible voice, and they sang all my favorites. Thank you so much for working with me to coordinate this, I wish I could put into words how fun it was to see them play but I guess the memories will just have to do because words don't seem to do the experience justice! Thanks again!

Megan 10/29/11 wedding


A New Groove is a band in Portland OR, and they ROCKED my wedding. Perfect music selection, high energy, incredible voices, and they were so easy to work with. They had everyone from the wedding party to our priest killing it on the dance floor for hours. And in between sets, they played an iPod, which went very smoothly. AND they are way more affordable than other bands. I think they are the best kept secret in Portland wedding bands. Can't recommend them highly enough. http://www.anewgroove.com/

Christine  Portland Wedding  09/03/2011


Thank you Mike! I can't tell you how many people came up to me to say what an amazing band we had. The song for our first dance was fantastic, and one guest even asked for Leisa's autograph! So, so great!

Thanks again,

Liz

8/7/10 wedding


Hi Mike,

A New Groove was AWESOME and soooo nice to work with! Leisa was unbelievably flexible and patient with my VERY behind bride and groom. She worked well with adjusting the timeline and keeping the night moving. If you can send me her contact info, I would love to send a personal thank you. Thanks so much and I will absolutely keep you guys in mind for my Seattle events. A New Groove was AMAZING!

Best,

Shyla

Shyla Wilcynski www.consciously-chic.com

6/12/2010 Portland Edgefield wedding


We were guests at a wedding in 2008 – Sean and I looked at one another and said that is our band! They are lovely and I could not offer a better recommendation. My husband is a musician and was blown away by their technical skills/sound. I loved their sound, style and versatility. Our wedding was such a joy and the dance floor was packed the entire evening. Wishing you the best of luck! Oh they traveled for our wedding too as we married n Sisters, Oregon. Also I was at a wedding with them this past summer and am in a wedding they will play at this July!

Kind regards,

Meghan Malone 2009 Wedding


Letter of reference from past client to potential client.

Hi Jeff,

I was referred to Mike Winkle by my wedding planner last year. Unfortunately, his band was not available for our wedding day, but he set me up with the band he manages, "A New Groove". I can't say I could be any happier in how it turned out.

They were extremely flexible in how I wanted things arranged prior to and during the evening (I wanted to have the first dance about an hour ahead of the time I said I did because by then the photographers were on overtime!). We had a guitar and sax during dinner and then afterwards the whole band stepped in. Everyone was on time even though they drove from Portland to Seattle that day (VERY unpredictable traffic on that stretch of freeway). Of course, everyone was dressed beautifully and fit right in.

They learned our song for our first dance with no extra cost and to tell you how good they were my husband said to me while we were dancing, "I thought you said the band was going to play this song." I said, "They are!" (He had thought they were just playing the recording of Harry Connick's "Wink and a Smile"). They distinguished themselves a part from "the wedding band" in that all of the songs they played sounded like their own. My uncle who has owned a music store for about 30 years and mastered in music theory in college was absolutely impressed with how polished they all seemed - a relatively large ensemble that effortlessly blended together.

They obeyed my requests for minimal speaking and for music themes I did not want played. They blended into the background during their breaks and were extremely lovely to work with. They also were able to gauge the feel of the crowd and knew what to play next in order to keep the mood going. When people mention my wedding - to this day they talk about how much fun they had and how awesome the band was. They truly capped off the most wonderful day of my life. I think it's pretty obvious from my review that I would hire them again and to any/all my friends looking to get married - I tell them about A New Groove!

Congratulations on your engagement! Remember to stop and breathe on your wedding day and take a look around - it goes by so fast!

All the best,

Lindsay

2009 Seattle wedding


Thank you Mike and A New Groove for all your help in making our wedding fantastic! Everyone had so many compliments about the band and how awesome they rocked! Our first dance was so good that Matt actually thought they were just playing the recording! You truly have a gem on your hands. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!

Lindsay and Matthew Piacek

8/8/09-Seattle Wedding


Mike,

We would like to extend our gratitude to you and the members of A New Groove! They looked (and more importantly) sounded perfect! Their music selection and sound was perfect for the event and our guests had nothing but gracious words regarding their performance. I have already highly recommended them to our circle of friends and family. The reception went well and we again are thankful we did extensive research and found A New Groove.

Sincerely,

Allen & Kristine

8/1/09-Seattle Wedding 


 

Hi Mike,

They were fantastic!!! From the very start, Leisa with her accompanist was so perfect with At Last and everyone I spoke to was so impressed with the range of music they did. The older standards and hey had everyone disco-ing and rockin thru the evening. Wished it could’ve gone on longer but it was probably a good thing we all stopped when we did or there would have been even more pain on Sunday. Anyway – nice job and thanks so much for all of your help in coordinating everything.

Sincerely.

Patty

Aspen Creek wedding 8/9/08


To the members of A New Groove,

You all rocked our wedding! From the first song to the last, no one wanted to leave the dance floor. I think I heard people moan with sadness when you announced the last dance. The vocals were out of this world, but the entire band was simply stellar! We loved it and it truly helped to make our wedding unique and fun! Special thanks for learning our special songs on such short notice. As I am sure you sensed, we got countless compliments on the great band choice. We will recommend you to all our friends and family. Many thanks for making our wedding the best day of our lives!

Fondly,

Kate & Jeremy

Seattle Wedding February 2008


Hi Mike

A New Groove was a raging success, people talked about them all night and have been all this morning as well. Again, thank you for everything (especially making me look like a genius for having the band)! I gave out a few of your cards with the band’s name on the back. As well, people are asking if they will be playing around Portland (I think the whole office are fans). If they ever do please let me know so I can pass on the word. Have a wonderful holiday season!

Best

Michaelene

Oliver Wyman-Delta Executive Learning Center

2007 Holiday party